HEART HEALTHY, SOUL WARMING COCONUT CURRY FISH

As the severe snows continue, I know a lot of us just want to crawl into bed with a big bucket of pancakes or a gallon of the greasiest chili I can find. However, what with all the menopause mayhem going on around me, I know I have to protect my heart from future damage – these are the critical years, after all, if I want to reach my goal of remaining fabulous at 120.

Jokes aside, I think I’ve done a pretty good job so far of managing any scary heart-related symptoms: the link between estrogen, cholesterol levels, and general heart health has been well-studied, which why cardiovascular disease is one of the 3 major diseases to actively prevent during menopause.
So not only am I trying to stay away from fat-laden foods, but I’m also trying to make my hearty stews actively healthy through the right spices. This Coconut Curry Fish, for example, is a spicy Ethiopian-inspired recipe the keeps both salt and bad LDL cholesterol low, and also has some anti-inflammatory turmeric and cholesterol-blasting garlic.


coconut curry fishINGREDIENTS:

  • 2 pounds fish filets (halibut works best)
  • 1 ½ tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 6 garlic cloves
  • 1 bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • ¾ cups coconut milk
  • 3 tomatoes, chopped
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 3 teaspoons curry powder
  • 1 ½ teaspoons garam masala
  • Salt and pepper to taste

  1. Heat oil over medium high heat in a large skillet, and sear the filets on both sides – don’t cook them through! Set them aside.
  2. Under minimal heat, sauté the onions and bell peppers until the onion is semi-transparent. Add the garlic and let it cook for two more minutes.
  3. Add the tomatoes, and let their juice come out and boil. Add the spices and coconut milk, and mix thoroughly.
  4. Re-add the fish filets and let simmer, covered, for 10 minutes.
  5. Serve with rice or roti.

This recipe is only mildly spicy, but enough to warm up the body on a cold day – turmeric is to thank for that, as it’s known to raise the body’s temperature. I like how the sauce skips over dairy completely and uses coconut oil instead, which not only gives it a very exotic flavor but comes packed with healthy fats. Also, it’s super easy to make, so it can whipped up for dinner any weeknight in less than an hour.

Leave a Reply

