DANDELION PUMPKIN SEED PESTO FOR SOFT SKIN

Spring is nearly, nearly here! I know I’ve said this before and used it as a motivation for my many culinary experiments, but it cannot be denied that we’re getting there, a little bit closer every day. As part of the endless preparations for nicer weather and less-covered outfits, it’s very important to look at skin health: winter is a well-known enemy of moisture, and I know I’m not the only one with cracked knuckles and elbows.

After a little research, I found that moisturizing my skin from the inside out needs three things: first, a lot of water – to drink, of course. Second, zinc, which I’ve used as a teen against acne but also works if you ingest it; lastly, selenium, which is also found in some foods and when eaten regularly it can protect you from UV-ray damage (which is something a bit less nice that comes back with spring).

I also found the perfect recipe to include more zinc and selenium in my diet: dandelion pumpkin seed pesto!


dandelion pumpkin seedINGREDIENTS:

  • §  3 cloves of garlic
  • §  2 cups dandelion greens
  • §  ½ a cup roasted pumpkin seeds
  • §  1 teaspoon pepper
  • §  1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • §  1 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • §  1 cup freshly grated parmesan cheese
  • §  1 teaspoon salt

 


 

  1. In a food processor, place the garlic and pumpkin seeds and pulse for 2 minutes.
  2. Add the cheese, dandelion greens, and lemon juice, and keep processing for two more minutes, then add the olive oil, salt and pepper slowly. Keep processing until you get the right consistency.

If you’re not into the earthy flavor of dandelion, you can switch back to classic blanched basil. This pesto can be used on pasta, the classical way, but I’ve found the pumpkin seeds give turkey or BLT sandwiches a nice twist. I’m thinking of using some leftover pesto as a salad topping, as the goal is to work these two nutrients into the regulars.

Leave a Reply

