ANTI-AGING MORNING STARTER: ACAI, BLACKBERRY, AND MINT SMOOTHIE

In addition to the many things I’ve got to fix during my menopause journey (from weight to bone health to sodium intake), it’s not just vanity to take a few extra bites aimed at preventing premature aging. Antioxidants seem to be the answer to this, although most antioxidant-rich superfoods seem to be really expensive nowadays, if not downright unappetizing (I’m looking at you, Tahitian noni!).Of course, my usual policy is not to dwell on the unpleasant and to always look for a way to make it tasty. Since I’m always looking, I’ve been able to find this delicious breakfast smoothie based on acai (the most antioxidant rich fruit out there), carefully balanced out with blackberry, mint, and other delights.


anti-aging-smoothieIngredients

  • 3 fresh sprigs of peppermint
  • 3.5 ounces of acai pulp
  • 1 green apple
  • 1 banana
  • 1 peeled lime
  • 1 cup of honey
  • 8 ounces of blackberry
  • 5 dates
  • ½ a cup of kale
  • 2 ounces of chopped pineapple
  • ½ a  cup coconut water

Here’s the recipe:

  1. Chop all the fruits that aren’t already chopped.
  2. Place them in a blender alongside the coconut water and honey and blend until smooth.
  3. Start the day in a tropical way 🙂

I had to make a real effort to think of three different steps for this recipe, it’s really that simple – as all smoothies are. The flavor combination is rich and energizing, so I find it perfect for normal breakfast, but I think once summer is here I’ll find myself adding ice and passing it off as a refreshing virgin cocktail.

Leave a Reply

